Adomas Jacovskis

Laureate of the National Prize of Lithuania

Adomas Jacovskis was born 14 January, 1948 in Vilnius (Lithuania).

In 1973 he graduated from The Vilnius Academy of Art (Theatre Art Department). His first stagework was Strindberg’s ‘Miss Julie’.

In 1978-1983 Jacovskis worked as an Art Director of The Lithuanian Youth Theatre.

Since 1989, Adomas Jacovskis has been teaching scenography at the Academy of the Fine Arts of Lithuania. He occupies the post of Professor at the Academy.

He has done the scenography for about  90 theatre, opera and ballet productions for Lithuanian and foreign companies, including: National Drama Theatre of Lithuania, State Youth Theatre of Lithuania, Maly Theatre of Vilnius, LIFE Festival, Lithuanian Theatre of Opera and Ballet, Kaunas Dramatic Theatre, Riga National Opera, Modern Theatre (Vrotslav, Poland), Moscow’s Sovremennik Theatre (Russia),  the Vakhtangov State Academic Theatre of Russia, Rep Theatre (Scotland), National Theatre (Reykjavik, Iceland), Göteborg Theatre (Sweden), Bolshoy Theatre (Russia).

His first work with Rimas Tumanis was in 1994 when he did the scenography for the production of Grigory Kanovicius’ ‘Give us a smile, O Lord’.  This was followed by Lermontov’s ‘Masquerade’, ‘We Play…Schiller!’, Chekhov’s ‘The Three Sisters’, Beckett’s ‘Waiting for Godot’, Gogol’s ‘The Inspector-General’, Griboyedov’s ‘Woe from Wit and many others.

At the Vakhtangov Theatre he worked with Tuminas on the following productions: ‘Uncle Vanya’, ‘Masquerade’, ‘The Wind in the Poplars’, ‘The Haven’, ‘Eugene Onegin’, ‘Give us a smile, O Lord’, ‘Minetti’, ‘Oedipus Rex’, ‘Fake note’ and the latest premiere devoted to the 100-me anniversary of the Vakhtangov Theatre – ‘War and peace’ after Lev Tolstoy.

Adomas Jacovskis has won numerous national and international prizes for his scenography. Apart from his work in theatre, works actively as a painter and participated in many national and international exhibitions.

Uncle Vanya, 2009
Masquerade, 2010
The Wind in the Poplars, 2011
The Haven, 2011
Eugene Onegin, 2013
Smile at us, O Lord, 2014
Minetti, 2015
Oedipus Rex, 2016
Fake note, 2018
War and peace, 2021