Farewell Tour (2011)

The premiere held on 2011. 09. 08

Rimas Tuminas brought a lot of positive change into creative life of the theatre. Prior to the 90th anniversary of The Vakhtangov Theatre the rehearsal of “The Haven” started. Actors who glorified the stage of the Theatre are involved in the performance; among them are Yuliya Borisova, Lyudmila Maksakova, Vkadimir Etush, Yury Yakovlev, Vasily Lanovoy, Vyacheslav Shalevich, Galina Konovalova, Irina Kupchenko, Evgeny Knyazev, Sergey Makovetsky, Vladimir Simonov and many others.

Young actors have no complaints about the lack of work as well. They are involved in such performances as “Masquerade”, “Troilus and Cressida”, “Measure for Measure” and “Princess Ivona”. Thetheatrebearspromisingfuture for the young.

The Vakhtangov Theatre actors are monogamous. After graduation they come on stage of one and only theatre of their lives and stay there from that on. Unfortunately not all of them get the chance to fully unlock their potential. It is no secret that there is a lack of female “after 40’ parts. But the will to work reminds of itself and so does the right to continue acting.

Olga Chipkovskaya, Agnessa Peterson, Irina Kalistratova, Vera Novikova and Ekaterina Simonova together with director Oleg Forostenko have chosen the play by themselves. Juliu Edlis’s play “The Farewell tour” tells a story that resembles the lives of actresses, involved in the performance. They coincide with the heroines who face the injustices of acting career with dignity. Edlis’s characters are naive, touching and comic at times. They are deeply immersed in the world of theatre with the backstage talks of what will never happen.

“The Farewell Tour” never claimed to be innovative as there’s no need to be. The sincere intonation of the play is utterly redeeming.

Running time: 2 hours 30 min with one intermission.

The play is recommended for audience older than 16 years (16 +).

Main Stage

Premiere was on 8 September 2011

Characters & Cast:

Shipalina Vera Novikova
Rudakova Olga Chipovskaya
Dontsova Ekaterina Simonova
Anna Antonova
Garanina Agnessa Peterson
Conductor Irina Kalistratova


Director Oleg Forostenko
Ser designer Vera Nikolskaya
Music Andrey Rybnikov